Board of Commissioners


Ross Township is governed by the Board of Commissioners as established under the First-Class Township Code. The Board plays the central role in township government by serving as the main legislative body. They oversee policy making, enacting ordinances and resolutions, as well as managing the finances of Ross Township through the development of an annual budget and tax levying. There are 9 Wards, with 1 Commissioner per Ward.

As elected officials of Ross Township, Commissioners also work closely with state representatives concerning state legislation affecting the Township.

Regular Meetings

  • 1st Monday of each month is the Board Committee Meeting, beginning at 7:00 PM
  • 3rd Monday of each month is the Board Business Meeting, beginning at 7:00 PM

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

The Township utilizes a digital solution for agenda and meeting management. In order to view upcoming meeting agendas, follow the link below. On the right-hand side of the screen, click the meeting date located in the calendar or scroll down to 'Upcoming Meetings' and select the desired meeting. 

View Most Recent and Upcoming Agendas

May 2, 2014 - March 2, 2020 Agendas & Minutes

View Past Agendas and Associated Minutes 

Ross Township Board of Commissioners

  1. Ward 1
  2. Ward 2
  3. Ward 3
  4. Ward 4
  5. Ward 5
  6. Ward 6
  7. Ward 7
  8. Ward 8
  9. Ward 9

Comm. DeMarco

Commissioner Daniel DeMarco, President


Member Details

Nine Commissioners are elected by Township residents, each to a 4-year term. The First-Class Township Code establishes a pattern of staggered elections so that roughly half of the board is up for election in each municipal election year.


The basic qualifications to serve as a Township Commissioner are to be a registered voter and resident of the Township. Commissioners must reside within Ross Township continuously for at least one year prior to their election. To continue serving as a Commissioner, an individual must retain residence within the Township. Legal residence includes not only a person’s intention, but also a physical presence. 

The requirement of residence approximates domicile. Intention or voter registration is not enough; an individual’s actual residence is better determined by his conduct than by his words. A person cannot declare a domicile inconsistent with the facts of where he or she actually lives.

Member Duties

Commissioners administer the executive responsibilities of the Township. The Board appoints all department directors as well as members for the various Township boards and commissions. The positions of Township Manager, Township Engineer, and Township Solicitor are 2-year appointments. The Board also designates the Township Depositories (banks) as well as the official newspaper of record the Township.

Junior Commissioners

Ross works with Junior Commissioners to engage students about community issues. The 2022-2023 Junior Commissioners are Adam Serowik and Riley Franz, from North Hills Senior High School.

Ward Map

Ward Map